late nights and Capote

Standard

When spending my weekends at my dad’s place, we usually stay up late and watch films. Most of the time, we watch classics -he is responsible for my love for classic films, as he has made me watch ever since I was a kid films with Bogart (who he adores), Bette Davis and directed by Hitchcock -our favorites. The first copy of my all time favorite film, Breakfast at Tiffany’s, was a VHS that he brought home one day many years ago. We’d spend our weekend nights sitting in the living room, my grandma, my dad and I, and we’d watch our collection of dvds (which we still have).

Now, the tradition continues, even if it’s just my dad and I -and sometimes, we alternate with current films. When watching Harry Potter, my dad’s comment of “does that guy have the glasses glued to his ears?” made me both roll my eyes and internally laugh. When watching a film with Jimmy Stewart, you can always notice dad’s annoyed expression -he can’t stand the guy, though I love him. So, our nights are always entertained.

Last night, we stayed late and got to catch “Capote” (2005) on TV. It was one of those films I’ve been wanting to watch for a while, but never got to. But this time I finally could. Can I just mention how brilliant Philip Seymour Hoffman was as Capote? I turned the original version on (which means, turning the audio to English instead of the dubbed version) so I could appreciate his vocal performance too. His voice was changed. His presence, perfection. And the company, even better -Harper Lee, played by Catherine Keener makes the perfect “side-kick”, so to speak.

Image

Ok, as an English Literature student, I’m ashamed to admit I had NO idea those two were friends. Capote and Harper Lee, I could have never imagined!! I read “To Kill a Mockingbird” on my first year of university, and it’s now one of my favorites -I consider it a must-read for everyone (I think it makes you a better person). The film made me think of them, and it doesn’t seem that crazy, anyway.

“In Cold Blood” has been on my to-read list ever since my aunt gave me the book a couple of years ago. It intrigues me, but horrifies me at the same time. But I did read Capote’s “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” -and the short collection of short stories that accompanies that one. I’m making a mental note right now to re-read everything soon, and finally put my hands on “In Cold Blood” to see what all the hype is about.

Oh, and I also just saw that there is another film about Capote from 2006, “Infamous” -I might have to watch it soon, too.

Leave a Reply

