Sightseeing

Standard

I like to affectionately call my bus line “the tourist route” because it takes you through some of the most important areas of my city. There’s a stop by the main square, where the town hall is; it stops near the busiest business area, and also the busiest shopping street. When returning home, there’s a stop by the cathedral, and it’s really interesting to see tourists and citizens alike snooping around.

This morning I had to take that line 2 time, and I had time to see:

  1. A small furry dog sitting on a bench by his owner. They both had their hands (well, front paws in the dog’s case) hanging from the border of the bench, and both were people-watching (don’t you love it?). Of course, I had to laugh when I saw such scene. They both had brown hair, and deep dark eyes. Their expression was so much alike I really wondered about what they say: that a dog always ends up being like its owner.
  2. Two women were standing next to each other. One had black hair and the other was blonde. They were middle aged and so their faces were not as tight as they probably want them to be. I noticed both of them had an almost infalible way of concealing their wrinkles: make-up. Let’s face it, make up can be helpful, but it can also be treacherous some times. In this case, I didn’t mind, but what amused me was their use of eyeliner: the dark haired one had blue eyeliner on her upper lid, while the blonde one had used the exact same colour on the lower. Funny how they didn’t seem to notice.
  3. In my bus line, there are 2 predominant kinds of passengers: students (the line arrives to most university campuses) and seniors. Old ladies wear their best clothes and their jewellery when going to the city centre to have lunch with their friends and old men usually have neat white hair or white beards. Today I witnessed how an old man got on the bus and walked as straight as his old back let him. He approached the special seats available for them, but didn’t sit. Instead, he looked at me in my normal seat. I felt the need to get up and let him take my seat, but when I offered, he ardently refused, claiming that he was perfectly fine and “was not that old”. He got mad at me for offering my seat!! (again, this hasn’t been the first time that has happened to me).

I also had my first experience at the Tax Office. It was big, intimidating and crowded. Serious looking employees dealt with people’s inquiries as if they were automatas, barely paying attention to what they were doing -they probably don’t need to, they’ve been doing the same thing for a long time.

My father is the one who always does this paperwork, but this time I had to do it myself. I guess maturity has arrived and has just slapped me in the face.

Leave a Reply

