Dreams

Standard

Have you ever had a discouraging dream/nightmare where all you did was running and running around, chasing something or just lost?

I had these all the time.

According to “Dream Moods”, when you dream you’re “the one doing the chasing, then the dream may highlight your drive and ambition to go after something you want, or go after someone you want. On the other hand, it may also mean that you are falling behind in some aspect of your life and are having to catch up to others”

But, when you’re lost, it says “that you have lost your direction in life or that you have lost sight of your goals. You may be feeling worried and insecure about the path you are taking in life. If you try to call for help, then it means that you are trying to reach out for support. You are looking for someone to lean on. Alternatively, being lost means that you are still adjusting to a new situation in which the rules and conditions are ever changing.”

Dreams have always fascinated me. I’m not one who remembers her dreams, I tend to forget them the minute I wake up and therefore, remembering them always marks me. I’ve had a couple of “premonitory dreams”, as my dad said. Once, I dreamed I went bald on my right side of the head. I remember telling my dad, and looking up online what it meant. It said on some webpage (even though Dream Moods doesn’t seem to agree), that “dreaming that you’re bald on the right side means that a male member of your family will die soon” –that or that I was a bit hipster in my dream, anyway). Not too long after, my godfather died.

 

During my gap-year, as I tenderly refer to that full year of being lost after dropping out of Law School, I constantly had dreams in which I was lost in cities, woods, and some other scary scenarios -which would make sense with the meaning above, as I had no fucking idea about what I wanted to do with my life or what I was gonna become.

Image

‘The Flying Dream’ by Richard Wilkinson

 

Last night, I dreamed I was running, hiding at street-corners and flying (!!!!), chasing a woman who had just robbed my purse. I was flying over an unknown city, trying to stay up enough time in order to see her (Dream Moods: Difficulty flying may also be an indication of a lack of confidence, lack of motivation or some hesitation on your part. Perhaps you  have set unrealistic goals for yourself and now you are struggling to meet those goals.)

 

Well then, I guess confusing times are here again.

That, or as a cold is slowly but steadily creeping up on me, last night I had a fever that made me have weird dreams.

Leave a Reply

