Sex and the City

Standard

Last night, I found myself thinking about HBO’s infamous show Sex and the City, which is one of my all time favourites. I gotta say that, in spite of it being on TV for (how many years? Seven?) –a long time, I only got to watch it completely maybe 5 years ago, when I finally had internet at home. Ever since, it’s been a huge inspiration for me. I’ve watched both films, too, and my friends and I lead a Sex and the City appreciation life.

Image

I think almost everyone knows what the show’s about: 4 single girls in Manhattan, living it up, working their asses off and trying to find a perfect match (whether it’s a guy or a pair of shoes it’s irrelevant). But, what I like about it is the ability of portraying ALMOST real women. Ok, I know not every single girl in Manhattan is able to buy a pair of Manolo Blahnik shoes every month or go clubbing to the most exclusive spots in town (I have a friend who lives in NY, and her experience is not even close), but I think the show was able to portray one of the universal characteristics of women: friendship. Everyone talks about how us women tend to hate on each other more than usual (which I agree with, and wish to change it), but we also have a precious habit, which is friendship. Us girls have best friends, girls we are really close with and mean the world to us (I’m gonna name a few of the “celebrity besties” out there: Taylor Swift and Selena Gomez –and Demi Lovato, occasionally; Vanessa Hudgens and Ashley Tisdale; Shay Mitchell and Ashley Benson; Lena Dunham and Jemima Kirke…)

So, can we, women, forget about ridiculous rivalries and focus on the great team we’d make if we were united? Can a girl avoid start bitching about the make-up of the girl who just came into the room or can a so-called “friend” avoid telling bullshit about her “bestie”? Can we do that?

In Sex and the City, no matter how unreal it may look sometimes, the girls COULD do it. Yeah, they had their occasional fights, but I’ve always loved that, even though they were veeeery different, they always seemed to be able to get along; they were reliable, could trust each other and, oh god, they were 4!!! Is the nicely-combined group of more than 2 girl friends a myth? Can more than 2 girls get along almost perfectly? –the answer is YES, IT’S POSSIBLE!

No, before you start thinking I’m delusional, I gotta tell you one thing: I’ve experienced heaven, I live surrounded by goddesses and yeah, my close friends all get along with each other (and we’re a group of 5!) –I’ve got 4 close girl friends from the same group, and another 3 outside it.

In my mind, last night, I started thinking about us, the 5 girls. We’re all 22 and 23 years old. We all like getting together for nice chats and cappuccinos. We all are different from each other –but so similar at the same time. So, it was 2am when it struck me that we were a bit similar to the 4 girls in Sex and the City. No, we’re not living the life in Manhattan; no, we don’t wear Chanel dresses or Manolos; no, we still don’t work for a living in an art gallery, a newspaper, a PR business or a lawyers’ firm BUT I think we were easily classified into the Miranda, Carrie, Samantha and Charlotte categories. Ask any girl and she will immediately tell you what character she is. “I’m a Carrie!” and “I’m a Samantha!” is woman jargon and now you’ll understand why.

Image

Miranda Hobbes, played by Cynthia Nixon

My first friend, let’s call her CM, is, in my opinion, easily classified as a Miranda. She is hard working, studious, veery organized and extremely reliable. She gives good advice, she’s smart.

Image

Charlotte York, played by Kristin Davis

The second friend, referred to as B, is what I’d call a Charlotte. She has a taste for good art, loves babies and weddings, and has gorgeous hair (I had to add this, of course). She has impeccable taste for everything, really. But she’s also not afraid to loosen up a bit every once in a while.

Image

Samantha Jones, played by Kim Cattrall

The third (and the fourth) friend, named P and C, are both Samanthas. They enjoy sex, know how to discuss such matters without blushing and are really really honest. They always know how to make you laugh, and you know you can count on them in any case.

They all are independent women who fight for what they want –whether it’s for a pair of heels, a job or a casual sex encounter, it’s another story.

Wait, but what about me?

Image

Carrie Bradshaw, played by Sarah Jessica Parker

I like (!!!) to call myself a Carrie. Or at least, that’s what I’d want to be. I’ve always said “I can’t decide whether to be Carrie Bradshaw or Audrey Hepburn, so I’ve decided to be both”. Because, why not? To defend my theory, I gotta say I like to write (like Carrie), even though I don’t have my own column on a newspaper (yet) or have had my books published; I also think I’m a bit of a nexus with my friends –not to brag, but I was the one who brought them together, how amazing am I?? 😉

Guess I just can call myself lucky to be able to say “yeah, I identify my group of friends with the girls’ friendship in Sex and the City”. Then again, my theory could also be dismantled; the previously mentioned friend B, replied:

“We’re all each of them. Samantha wasn’t that impassive and Carrie wasn’t that brilliant. They’re like a whole woman, but they divided it in 4 parts to make them more attractive.”

So yeah, I also think she’s right and we all have a bit of Carrie, Charlotte, Samantha and Miranda inside.

Until next time, I will be dreaming of lapel flowers, wonderful shoes and walk-in closets.

Leave a Reply

