Road

Standard

People say “Jesus, take the wheel”,
but lately I’ve been taking it.
I’ve been driving around a city
and through roads that never before
had been as winding as they appear now.

I’m taking the wheel and running red lights,
missing stop signs and accelerating at the wrong times.
I try to pay attention, and almost
always, I conquer the signs,
I drive safe.

I’m taking the wheel,
yet I feel like I’m failing.
So what if I may need a bit more time?
So what if I didn’t see the stop sign?
I will finally conquer the road.

Oh, I will.

 

Leave a Reply

