Girl friends

Standard

Some of my most prized posessions are my girl friends. I’ve always been a girls girl, and I’ve rarely had male friends (intimate male friends, that is). The truth is, I don’t know how to function around guys –I don’t know how to speak to them; I don’t know how to laugh with them and I certainly don’t know how to flirt with them (but that’s another story).

The thing is, my girl friends are very very very special to me. I have the most diverse group of friends ever, and I like to believe that, together, we create a wonderful group. My friends… they’re practically what have kept me going certain days.

They are insane, have a great sense of humor and a great taste in music (well, it depends on the day and the occasion, really). I love going to the cinema with them, having a coffee or just a walk, they’re always nice to have around. They soothe my soul, if you allow me to say so.

Why is it that we don’t truly accept compliments yet we quickly believe every bad thing said about us? I observe my girl friends and I see beautiful intelligent women with an uniqueness in them that is quite hard to find (believe me, I’ve searched!). They don’t seem to believe how amazing they are, and I find myself wondering why don’t they like themselves (HECK, I WISH I was as good as them!). I like how our friendships have randomly started (I’ve experienced love at first sigh with one of them, when, right after meeting her, we told each other our whole life story and knew we were going to last for a long time). Others, I remember not giving the chance to be in my life until quite later, yet finding in them the most amazing and unexpected people. With my 2 eldest ones, I remember such crazy and random situations that I cannot picture my life without them. They all are my sisters.

I’m proud to say I’m a good friend, I think I know how to make them laugh –but, believe me, that’s a small prize to pay in exchange of what they give me: PEACE OF MIND.

 

This post was brought to my mind and fingertips right after a long day of migraines and migraine-pills, endless hours in front of my laptop and an hour long tutoring a sleepy child in English.

Leave a Reply

