It’s good to be alone every once in a while

Standard

I think it’s very healthy to spend time alone. You need to know how to be alone and not be defined by another person.

–Oscar Wilde

 

I think I’ve always despised doing the typical things of kids my age. I didn’t go to a club until was 18, I never pretended to be older than I was, and I played with dolls even when I was 14. I had friends younger than me, and I enjoyed spending time with them, inventing and narrating tales. I also loved spending time with myself, laying on my grandparents’ huge bed and reading on hot summer afternoons. I loved sewing (my grandma taught me to do pretty flowers and I also sewed mini dresses for my dolls). When I grew up, I spent my afternoons after class alone in my room, watching films, reading and writing. I invented stories, read every magazine in sight and listened to music. I’ve never been afraid of spending time alone -well, except at nights when my dad decided to go out and left me alone until midnigh: that terrified me.

What I mean with all this rambling is that spending time alone is very healthy. I learned what I liked, what I disliked and that I can actually have fun alone. It’s not that I don’t love being with those I like –my friends always cheer me up and I love being with them doing whatever– but I also love being alone. Spending time with myself has taught me that I probably wouldn’t need anyone else to “validate” my life or give meaning to my time. I’m totally capable of having fun alone.

That’s why I’ve always disliked the thought of a girl needing a boyfriend. No, thanks. I can do things by myself. Give me the dvd of John Hughes’ “Pretty in Pink”, chocolate and iced tea and I’ll have a perfect evening by myself.

I’ve been thinking of my social skills -which are pretty deplorable. It’s almost as if I had a “social battery” that slowly runs out when I spend too much time with people around me. I get to be around people, yeah, but I need to go home after a while to recharge that social battery. I need to shut the doors, turn on my favorite song and lose myself in my unimportant thoughts.

Then, being alone is not so bad. You should all try it.

 

One thought on “It’s good to be alone every once in a while

  1. Very true. What with social media, smartphones and always being ‘connected’, it’s very hard to actually be alone these days but it’s unhealthy to NOT disconnect yourself from the network from time to time and just take a breather. Great post, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

