Things you need to watch: Beyond the Lights (2014)

Standard

I watched this film the other day and let me tell you: there is more to this Rihanna / Beyoncé / Whitney Houston hybrid.
Written and directed by a black female (Gina Prince-Bythewood) and with the magnificent acting of Gugu Mbatha-Raw, this film should be your to-watch list if you haven’t seen it yet. It captures you from minute 1 and won’t let you go until the end.

On being a black female director: “People ask me all the time if I feel discriminated against as a black female director and I actually don’t. I get offered a ton of stuff and if I wanted to get work all the time I could. But I like to direct what I’ve written. I feel what’s discriminated against are my choices — which is to focus on people of color and more specifically women of color. Those are the films that are not getting made and those are the films that take a lot more fight. But I’m up for the fight, because if I’m not making them they’re not going to get made, and then we become invisible again.”

– Gina Prince-Bythewood, NPR’s Morning Edition (November 2014)
Leave a Reply

